CHAPTER 15

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

- 15.1 Both the EC Subsector Elections and the CE Election have been smoothly conducted. The Commission attributes this to the dedicated and concerted efforts of all parties involved in the preparation for and conduct of the elections.
- 15.2 The Commission would like to express its gratitude to the following organisations, and government bureaux and departments for their valuable assistance and unflagging support: the building management office of Harbour Centre, Airport Authority, AMS, CAB, CAS, Civil Service Bureau ("CSB"), CSTDI, EMSD, Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, FSD, GLD, Department of Health, Highways Department, Home Affairs Bureau, HAD, Hong Kong Observatory, Hong Kong Police Force, Hongkong Post, Housing Department, ICAC, ISD, D of J, Lands Department, Leisure and Cultural Services Department, Long Win and Citybus Companies, Marine Department, MTR Corporation, Office of the Government Chief Information Officer (of the Commerce, Industry and Technology Bureau), Official Languages Division (of the CSB), Office of the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data, RTHK and TD.
- 15.3 The Commission is grateful to the RO and AROs for the CE Election, the ROs, AROs and NACs for the EC Subsector Elections, and the legal advisers for the enquiry service on the guidelines and for handling complaints relating to the CE Election. The Commission would like to thank those polling and counting staff who conscientiously performed their duties and dutifully followed the relevant operational procedures. The Commission is

also thankful to staff of the REO, who provided unfailing support in the planning and conduct of the two elections.

- 15.4 The Commission also wishes to express its appreciation to the work of the media. Wide coverage of the activities relating to the EC Subsector Elections and the CE Election has indeed contributed much to enhancing the public understanding and transparency of the elections.
- 15.5 Last but not least, the Commission wishes to acknowledge its gratitude towards those who have complied with the electoral legislation and guidelines throughout the elections and those who cast their votes at the EC Subsector Elections and the CE Election.