#### **CHAPTER 1**

### INTRODUCTION

## **Section 1 : The Responsibility of the Electoral Affairs Commission**

- 1.1 Under section 4(a) of the Electoral Affairs Commission Ordinance (Chapter 541) ("EACO"), one of the functions of the Electoral Affairs Commission ("EAC") is to consider or review the boundaries of District Council ("DC") constituencies for the purpose of making recommendations on the boundaries and names of constituencies for a DC ordinary election.
- The EAC is required under section 18 of the EACO to submit a report to the Chief Executive ("CE") of its recommendations on the boundaries and names of District Council Constituency Areas ("DCCAs") at an interval of not more than 36 months from the preceding DC ordinary election. As the last DC ordinary election was held on 22 November 2015, the EAC has to submit the report on the boundaries and names of the DCCAs for the 2019 DC Ordinary Election to the CE by 21 November 2018.
- 1.3 Under section 21 of the EACO, the CE-in-Council shall consider the EAC's report as soon as practicable after the receipt of it. Subject to the CE-in-Council's approval on the boundaries and names as recommended by the EAC, the CE-in-Council, having regard to the EAC's final recommendations, will make and table at the Legislative

Council ("LegCo") the relevant Order according to section 6(1) of the District Councils Ordinance (Chapter 547) ("DCO"). After the completion of the negative vetting procedure of the LegCo, the boundaries and names of the DCCAs will come into effect for the sixth-term DC ordinary election to be held in November 2019.

### Section 2: Increase in the number of elected seats

- Delineation of the DCCAs is based on the total number of elected seats for the next DC ordinary election. After undertaking an overall review on the number of elected seats for each of the 18 administrative districts having regard to the projected population of Hong Kong in mid-2019, the Government proposed to increase 21 elected seats in 10 DCs for the sixth-term DCs as follows:
  - (a) one additional seat for each DC in Kowloon City, Yau
    Tsim Mong and Tsuen Wan;
  - (b) two additional seats for each DC in Sham Shui Po, Kwai Ching, Tuen Mun and Sai Kung;
  - (c) three additional seats for each DC in Kwun Tong and Sha Tin; and
  - (d) four additional seats for the Yuen Long DC.

- On 17 July 2017, the Government consulted the LegCo Panel on Constitutional Affairs on the proposed addition of 21 elected seats for the 2019 DC Ordinary Election. A motion was moved at the LegCo meeting on 17 January 2018 for the approval of the District Councils Ordinance (Amendment of Schedule 3) Order 2017 to implement this proposal. The Order was approved by the LegCo on the same day and published in the Gazette on 19 January 2018.
- 1.6 Pursuant to LegCo's approval for the abovementioned Order, the total number of elected seats for the 2019 DC Ordinary Election was increased by 21 from 431 to 452. Correspondingly, the total number of DCCAs to be delineated by the EAC was increased to 452 as one DC member is to be elected from each DCCA. The number of DCCAs to be delineated by administrative districts is set out in **Appendix I**.

# **Section 3 : Scope of the Report**

1.7 The scope and content of this report is based on the requirements stipulated under section 18 of the EACO. The report is published in three volumes. **Volume 1** mainly describes how the proposed delineation of the boundaries of DCCAs was worked out and sets out the EAC's recommendations on the boundaries and the names of the DCCAs with the reasons for those recommendations. **Volume 2** contains the maps of all the administrative districts and the boundary descriptions of relevant DCCAs. The boundaries and names of each DCCA are shown on the maps. **Volume 3** records all the written representations.