## **CHAPTER 1**

## **ESTABLISHMENT AND MEMBERSHIP**

- 1.1 The Electoral Affairs Commission ("the Commission" or "the EAC") was established by the Electoral Affairs Commission Ordinance, Cap. 541 ("the EAC Ordinance").
- 1.2 The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China appointed Mr Justice WOO Kwok-hing as a Member and Chairman of the Commission ("the Chairman") and Mr Norman LEUNG Nai-pang, JP and Dr Elizabeth SHING Shiu-ching as Members of the Commission ("Members") for a period of three years from 29 September 1997 to 28 September 2000.